Dedications & Considerations

Hello all!

Yay!  I’ve been liberated from the downstairs office and get to upstairs away from all the noise and distraction that emanates from the dog and fiancée.  🙂  It’s nice to have a “piece of quiet” as my brother would say.

Today I’d like to talk about a little thing that’s been bugging me–my book dedication.  I realized that there was something “sticking” me here–the book was done, the illustrations also done (and beautiful I might add!) so what’s left?  Well, first off, I had considerations about the book being a total flop.  As in absolutely NO ONE reads it, no one cares, not even my family.  I tried to tell my mom about my book, but was met with light interest and a simple request for a free copy.  I haven’t told my dad about the book yet because he always dissuaded me against writing professionally as “there is no money in it and you’ll end up with a broken heart.”  He also discouraged me from being an English teacher saying there was no money in that, either.  But seriously, money can’t buy joy, can it?  Money can facilitate more joy in your life but money does not equal joy.  At least, this is my interesting point of view.

After looking at some of these limiting thoughts, I still didn’t feel all jacked up on kool-aide to get the book “out there.”  It didn’t help that the design consultancy suddenly got slammed with work and my lay-out artist took a better paying gig.  Ha!  There’s only so long someone will work for kisses and hugs! lol

However, my fiancée and lay-out artist kept persisting and reminding me that I need to get my book done!  No matter what!  He knows that this is a dream of mine and so what if no one cares or buys a copy or reads one scrap of it?  Apparently getting published is some kind of big deal. 😉

The desire to get the dedication done, however, just wasn’t there.  I knew what I wanted it to say, too.  I just had. So. Many. Considerations.  I could hear my mom saying, “Why didn’t you dedicate it to me?  Can you dedicate one to me in the future?” I could hear my grandma saying, “Well, that’s a strange dedication!  Loved the book though!”  I could hear my dad not understanding the dedication (though he would be part of it!) and I could just feel all this charge and judgment that this was going to bring up.  You know something?  I don’t care if you judge my book, my writing, my “voice,” the photos I post here, the topics I choose to discuss–I don’t care if you judge me, my looks, my eating habits, my dog, or pretty much anything else.  I do care about this, apparently.  This stupid dedication!  I was deliberately avoiding writing it to avoid evoking judgement!  And who knows?  Chances are none of these judgments will even be an issue and I’ll have just made myself crazy for no good reason!

Anyway, I wrote down the dedication and gave it to Nick.  Hopefully he’ll be willing to polish off the book by the end of the weekend, workload or no.  It’s just a stupid dedication–geez! lol I need to stop making it so darn significant.  It might be my first but it won’t be my last!

I know I owe you a dinner recipe–it is my standard veggie stir-fry–not that interesting, but certainly tasty!  I’ll have to post about that another time since I want to briefly talk about how amazing this granola is!!

http://ohsheglows.com/2012/10/12/cinnamon-bun-granola-recipe-halloween-treat-a-thon/

I changed it only to the extent that I used 1/2 walnuts & 1/2 pecans for the nuts and got sweetened shredded coconut accidently, but thought “oh well!” and used it–granola turned out great!  This recipe is a solid 10 out of 10!  I did end up baking it for twice as long as the original recipe said–perhaps I didn’t spread it thin enough on the baking sheet?  Nick loves it in his coconut yogurt in the morning and I’ve been enjoying it with just the original almond milk on it.  This granola is significantly better than anything I’ve bought from the store.  It actually reminds me of something I used to get from The Good Earth many years ago.  Here’s a photo!

photo(32)

I’ll certainly be making more of this again, soon!  I’ve already had a small bowl today….perhaps it is time for another? 🙂

Today I need to research some dessert ideas as I’ll be bringing something to a Father’s Day BBQ tomorrow.  Right now, I’m leaning toward making a vegan lemon cake.  I’ll post what I make and hopefully it comes out.  Baking vegan has had it’s failures for sure, so fingers crossed whatever I make turns out!

Now I’ll leave you with a photo of Ruxin.  🙂  He’s clearly made peace with his cone of shame though he now is using it as an additional herding device!  Yes, he bonks us on our legs with it as we walk down the hallway and that’s rather not cool, though how do you tell him not to do that??  The good news is that when he goes to try to sniff my butt I can feel the cone hit me.  I hate that he does this and am trying to teach him not to be a crotch sniffer, too.  Good luck with that, I hear you all say.  Have to love dogs! 😉

photo(33)

*Update on that dessert*–Well pilgrim, Papa and Karen (his sweet finacee) double booked the dessert!  So my Mama is bringing one (non-vegan however. boo) and some fresh berries for us (yay!).

I told Nick–he was a little upset.  I guess he wanted some kind of yummy vegan dessert!  Oh well….next time!

Since my last posting above I’ve another small bowl of that yummy granola, so I decided instead of a dessert, I’ll just make more granola!

Here is my recipe, which is basically the one from the link, but I’ll go ahead and attach it here:

GRANOLA

 

2 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup  raw buckwheat groats (I got Bob’s Mill kind)
1/4 cup  raw walnuts, chopped

1/4 cup toasted pecans, chopped
1/2 cup shredded coconut
1/4 cup raisins (make sure to take off the stems!)
1 Tbsp  ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/4 tsp fresh ground nutmeg
1/2 cup pure maple syrup
1/4 cup Medjool dates, pitted (about 5 -6 actual dates)
2 Tbsp melted coconut oil
2 Tbsp water
2 tsp pure vanilla extract

 

INSTRUCTIONS
1. In a large bowl, stir together the oats, buckwheat, walnuts, pecans, shredded coconut, raisins, cinnamon, salt and nutmeg.
2. Using a blender, blend the maple syrup, dates, coconut oil, water and vanilla extract into a smooth, thick sauce.
3. Pour the sauce into the bowl with the dry ingredients and stir until all the dry ingredients are well coated.

photo(35)

Oats + Date Mix ready to combine

 

OVEN METHOD
4. Preheat the oven to 300F. Transfer the mixture to a baking tray lined with tin foil and spread into a thin, even layer. Bake for 25 minutes, gently stirring every 10 minutes to ensure even browning. Allow to cool completely before gently breaking into clusters. Store in an air-tight container in the fridge or at room temperature.

photo(36)

Here on TWO sheets this time!  I totally spread it too thick in retrospect.

photo(34)

Oh yeah, end result is scrumptious!  🙂  Not only does it taste good, it makes the whole house smell fantastic!  I call that a double perk!

 

 

Leave a Reply

