Holy Smokes!

So I signed in and realized something today!  People have read my blog!  I’m so elated, you have no idea!!  Ya know something?  I’m betting it was the photo of the dog in the cone of shame.  😉  That’s my dog in a cone!  That’s my dog in a cone guurrrrrllll… (dick in a box? Anyone? Bueller?  Not funny? Well, I crack myself up–and am making bad jokes in my elated state, ha!)

So, I’ve gotten the pup a smaller, softer cone.  Apparently he got bored earlier and took out his frustrations on the larger cone as it clearly was oppressing him.  While we were in a phone meeting he got to hang out in the bathroom and must have been very busy, chewing and working at where it seamed together.  R.I.P. old cone.

Image

Here he is, waiting to be let out with the old cone.  “You know what it is,” he seems to say.

Image

“Mama, this new thing is pretty good!”  Yes, we keep it klassy around here and left the sticker on the cone.  🙂  We are such good dog parents like that!  He can now hold things between his little paws and chew them which is pretty much his favorite thing to do, ever.  The only thing that makes the chewing better is if he can lay on his back and chew whilst getting a belly rub. 

He is mostly healed up–went for a run and is now happily chewing away on some new chewy I got for him when at the pet store buying the replacement cone.

Now, I’ve mentioned I owe you dinner.  Well, a great dinner recipe that is! 😉

Image

Dinner with a view!  Not shabby!  Sorry you can’t see the food better.

 

Image

There ya go.  Money shot! 😉

So for all of you out there that I’ve just noticed start to read, here is the recipe!

Unnamed Yummy Pasta Magic Recipe (well, what do you name it?)

1-2 Tbs Olive Oil

4 Cloves Garlic, minced

Dash Red Pepper Flakes

12 – 15 Kalamata Olives cut into bites (depends on your tastes, I personally like loads of ’em)

1 Can Diced Tomatoes + juice

2 -3 Tbs Diced Sundried Tomatoes in Oil (you can add more if you like!)

1 Can Garbanzo Beans (drained, rinsed)

1.5 Cups Dry White Wine

Salt & Pepper, to taste

1/2 Package Spaghetti Pasta (vegan type, naturally!)

Fresh Basil (optional)

Instructions:

Get your pot of water on for the pasta. 

Drizzle olive oil in large pan (or you can use the oil from the sundried tomatoes, if ya want to be fancy), add several shakes of red pepper flakes, add minced garlic.  Cook over medium heat about three minutes (don’t burn the garlic, yuk), add olives, beans, tomatoes, wine, salt and pepper.  Let simmer for about 20 minutes.  It should reduce down nicely to about 1/2 it’s original liquid volume and shouldn’t smell like alcohol cooking off it when you have a sniff.  While the sauce-y yummy magic is simmering, start your pasta.  Add al dente pasta to sauce + a ladle full of pasta water, stir together, cover, and turn off the heat.  Let sit about 5-10 minutes, and give it a quick stir every 4-5 minutes. 

That is it!  Top with chiffonnade of fresh basil if you like that sort of thing.  I served with garlic Ezekiel toast and a salad.  It made a happy belly for sure!  The cold leftovers are pretty fantastic, too.

On to other news….we hit a snag in uploading the book tonight.  JPG format not what will work!  So now we have to go back and save out the files as PDFs or RTFs or something like that, and thank goodness Nick is on it since I’m not super technologically savvy–he offered to teach me, but I was occupied, here! lol 

It is getting late and I still need to write the Birthday Trees!  Yikes!  Well, bye for now! 

And thank you for reading.  Seriously.  You guys that read honestly HONESTLY made my night!!  …And probably my whole week.  It’s going to be a great week! I can tell.  Monday, you actually treated me pretty good.  We might have a cool thing going. 😉

Bye!

 

Leave a Reply

