Chocolate Chew Cookies aka “Crack Cookies” + Weekend Round-up

Happy Sunday!

Well, I’m just dragging today.  I don’t know if it is because the sun hasn’t come out yet, or if it’s because I just didn’t sleep well last night.  I was plagued with nightmares.  I woke up trying to scream but couldn’t.  I kept feeling like someone was in the room, but I *knew* better, but in my half asleep state… I think this really helped make the nightmares more potent.  Ah well.  Nothing a little coffee can’t fix! 🙂

I did bag out on my run this morning and opted to nibble on a cookie and a tofu dog thingy for breakfast.  It was the closest thing to eating an egg.  Yes, Jessica math goes like this:  1 cookie + 1 tofu dog = 1 egg

Do not try this ratio in baking.  😉

Okay, I’ll start with the fun, and as promised, here is the cookie recipe!  When I was younger, I called these cookies “chocolate crack cookies” because they are addictive, like crack! So p.c. of me, I know.  Plus, they tend to get a lovely crackle top on them, so if you are more comfortable thinking of them in this light, then run free with your bad self!  My mom is going to kill me when she finds out I’ve posted this–she’s a recipe hoarder. lol She don’t share with no one! But I’m a fan of spreading the wealth and sharing the good stuff.  Why keep it all for me?  I’m pretty sure that once I share this blog, she’ll read this, and never share another recipe with me again.  Little does she know that like the secret pirate ninja I be, I sneaked in and took photos of all the recipes I really like and use often, so they are handy-dandy on my phone.  Heh heh heh!  😉  ….besides, Mom, this recipe has been modified from its original version to be vegan-good!

Chocolate Chew (Crack) Cookies – Vegan

Ingredients:

2 Heaping Cups Vegan Chocolate Chips Melted (I like the semi-sweet vegan ones from Wholefoods)

3/4 Cups Earth Balance Vegan Buttery Sticks (at Room Temp.)

1 1/2 Cups Granulated Sugar

1 Tsp. Vanilla Extract

3 Eggs (I used Ener-G Egg Replacer, mixed and ready to go)

3 Cups All Purpose Flour

1 Tsp. Baking Soda

1 Tsp. Baking Powder

1/2 Tsp. Salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

Use a double boiler and melt the chocolate, slowly, on a low heat, checking often.  I do find that vegan chips are a little more fussy when they melt and are prone to burning–you know, getting crumbly and not melting right.  This could also be that I’m just impatient.  lol  Once nicely melted, set aside.

Combine all dry ingredients, sift or mix together, set aside.  Beat “butter” until creamy.  Add sugar, whip until smooth and fluffy.  Add vanilla and beat again until light and fluffy.  Gradually add the egg replacer and keep beating.  I did find that this mixture did whip up and behave fairly similarly to how non-vegan dough acts/looks at this point, which gave me hope.  Add in melted chocolate, combine nicely, then add the dry ingredients and mix until just combined.  Form balls, roll in sugar, the bake!  No time in the fridge needed for this dough!  If you find that the dough doesn’t want to combine toward the end, add a few drops of water (literally, it doesn’t take much) to the remaining dough.

Photos!

photo(49)

Here is the dough, ready to bake.

photo(50)

I ran out of granulated sugar!  Can you believe that?  Well, powdered sugar will work, too!  I also got creative and used coconut sugar on some of the dough balls, just to see how that would turn out.

photo(51)

My little coconut sugar minions of goodness, in baking formation.

photo(52)

Oh yeah.  Eat your heart out. 🙂  Note the “cracked” top?  Crack cookies, baby.  Not crack baby cookies.  That’d be wrong.

photo(53)

Here’s the loot!  This recipe made 29 medium-sized cookies and 11 lil’ babies for tasting.  This recipe was modified from the original and the amounts cut in half so that I could use a hand mixer–if you want a ton of these cookies, double the recipe and use a free-standing mixer as my little handheld could barely mix in the flour.  Plus, until I checked how these would turn out, I didn’t want to commit to that much potential waste.

photo(54)

Money Shot!  So. Chewy.  🙂  Bake for about 8 – 10 minutes and let cool for a few on your baking sheet before transferring onto a cooling rack or paper towels.

photo(55)

In a bag and ready to go!  I attached a little note to each–one said, “Welcome Doo-Doo!” and the other said, “Welcome Son of Doo-Doo!”  🙂  I think I’m funny!

Anyway, I heard that the cookies were well enjoyed by all.  The coconut sugar did turn out and was tasty.  I’d also say that if you are a chocaholic, you could drizzle chocolate on top of the cookies or dip in melted chocolate instead of using sugar.  These would also be great cookies for an ice cream sandwich or if they stick around too long a get a bit stale (doubt that would happen, but in this unlikely event) you could smash up and use for a cookie crust for a pie of some kind.

So today’s agenda boasts several notable things!

1.  I’ve handed off the jpgs of my book to my publisher to convert into pdf format. YAY!  What a relief!  That was holding us up so bad and was a huge source of frustration!

2.  Blog (duh, have to do that–it’s like taking a sanity pill.  I’m sure all you other writers out there feel the same way.  If you aren’t writing, you are not feeling super groovy!)

3.  BBQ at the Papa’s!  And YES I get to meet Son of Doo-Doo!  I haven’t met either of Karen’s kids.  I’m a bit nervous/excited/nervous.

4.  Hit the store to get salad fixin’s and fruit and maybe the stuff to do some guacamole.  🙂

Yes, I know I mentioned in a previous post that there are some heavy topics that I wanted to talk about, namely, sharing my publishing joy with my dad.  Basically, when I finally shared with him, he was less than excited, I suppose he was about the same as my mom?  Mild interest.  On a scale of 1 – 10, with 1 being no interest, and 10 being jubilant, he was at about a 2.  Oh well.  I guess it comes back to this:  If you are looking for approval, you are always looking outside yourself and having to use measures and judgments.  If you acknowledge you, you include everything, everyone, and suddenly the greatness you be can just, well, be!  So I’m really done seeking approval.  Easier said than actually done, I suppose.  I write because I love it.  I asked Nick yesterday, “Is there anything you love so much, you’d do it for free?”  He said, “Not really….I guess if the project were cool, I’d design it for free…..” I said, “Well, I love writing.  I do it for free I enjoy it so much.”  I guess it’s hard for people to relate when they haven’t experienced this kind of love.  Haha, I guess it’s like parenting?  That definitely pays crap, right? 😉

So on that “hm” note, I’ll bid you all a’do.  Make the cookies.  🙂  Eat and enjoy!  See you all later!

Leave a Reply

