Happy 4th (a day late, oops!) & Happy Friday!

Sorry I’ve been remiss in my blogging duties!  Just hang a sign on my blog that says “Gone Fishin’!”

I do have a good excuse.  Well, several, actually!  I got the first physical proof my book and there were MANY things that had to be fixed!  A word to the wise, a feathered edge border around the illustrations is NOT (I repeat NOT!) a good idea!  Everything was not centered right and some of the border was cut off on some of the pages, and it looked so sloppy.  Nick asked, “What is this? Amateur hour?”  There were other little issues, too–character faces too close to the center binding and got cut off, page numbers had been added…oh it was a right mess.

I’ve also started re-working/creating another book and I am very excited about this!  It’s pretty innovative and different, if I do say so myself.  O’ course, I would say that as I’m the one who thought the thing up…. lol

I’ve also had to go and make more work for myself, too, since one of my stories just doesn’t feel like it is a complete book.  It was going to be published as a kids book, but the illustrations weren’t coming together for it.  I took this as a sign and began to wonder what have I been missing!  So, what I think I’m going to do is put this short story into a compilation of short stories, poems, and other funny stuff my brain churns out.  It should be good.  I’ve got a lot of things I’ve written over the years that I never did anything with and I’m going to repurpose and re-work them for this book!

Needless to say, my mind has been spinning on all of the possibilities!

I hope you all had a great mid-week holiday!  We certainly did!  We headed to Santa Barbara and hung out with my dad on his boat.  For this occasion I made some peanut butter almond & oat flour vegan awesome cookies (a la Oh She Glows again, she rocks!) and brought some fruit and pasta salad.  Photos for you guys!  And might I add, holy moly was it ever beautiful in SB!!  I don’t think the photos do it justice…..but you will get a sense none-the-less!

Image

This was my effort to take a patriotic photo.  Yes, that’s a flag blowing in the wind there…yeah, that thing you can barely see!  Whatever.  It’s the flag.  It’s there.  Yay the 4th! lol

Image

People hangin’.

Image

The Papa-dopper and Nick chillin’.

Image

Definitely one of the worst views, ever.  😉

The firework show was amazing and one of the best Santa Barbara has ever put on!

Now, done to the good stuff.  There is this:

photo(99)

Yes, it is GOOD.  I’m snacking on the left-overs now!

Here’s how you make it.

Great Picnic-Party-in-Your-Mouth-Pasta Salad

Ingredients:

1/2 Bag or Box of Pasta of your choice

1/2 Cup Quinoa of your choice

1 Can Diced Black Olives

1/4  of a Purple Onion, small dice

For the Dressing:

4 Tbs Olive Oil

1 Tbs Red Wine Vinegar

1 Tbs Apple Cider Vinegar

1 Tbs Regular Mustard (you could use Dijon if you like)

5-6 Shakes Onion Powder

5-6 Shakes Garlic Powder

Salt & Pepper to taste

Directions:

Prepare pasta, drain, toss with a drizzle of olive oil to keep it from forming one giant clump.  Set aside.  Prepare quinoa according to directions on box; usually a 1:2 ratio of quinoa to liquid.  Once water is absorbed, set aside, and let cool.  In a large mixing bowl, measure out and combine the dressing ingredients, (literally just slurry them together, it isn’t fancy) then add pasta, quinoa, and onion.  Toss to coat with dressing.  Add more salt & pepper if you need.  Serve chilled or eat right on the spot.

Please note that some of these ratios can be futzed with depending on taste.  You might like more onion powder and garlic powder, or more purple onion, or want to omit these flavors altogether.  This is a totally flexible recipe, very easy to make, and doesn’t suck. 🙂

photo(100)

Grab a fork and dig in!  Happy Friday!  I’ll try to remember to post up that wonderful banana bread recipe this weekend!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

