Buckwheat + Oat Wheat + Awesome Vegan Pancakes

I was too excited NOT to post this.  I haven’t EVER seen anyone do this before!

So, you know how you make pancakes, right?  They are cooked in batches.  The “done” batch waits in the warmed oven until all of the batter has been turned into pancakes, and there is a shuffle back and forth between pan and oven.  I don’t find it to be super fun.

I don’t know about you, but has always frustrated me and kinda stressed me out!  I don’t want soggy pancakes, thank you very much!  I’d like nice, crispy ones!  Also, I’d like them to be healthier, please!

So I was thinking about these things earlier (pre-dinner, when I’m the hungriest and thinkiest) and came up with this fairly genius idea!  *light bulb!*

Hold on to your knickers…..

What if….

I baked the pancakes in a MUFFIN TIN!?!

Boom.  Your mind just got exploded.

Seriously though!  I was too excited to try this out! Next, I had to tackle the healthier pancake recipe.  Now, many, many, years ago I’d had this ah-may-zing waffle from Paradise cafe in Santa Barbara.  It was an orange buckwheat waffle and it was so dang good.  So I was wondering–could I use this taste/memory and build a recipe that incorporates these flavors?  The answer: YES.  yes. yes. YES!

Here you go–this is a little something which I just ate, that I like to call Oat + Buckwheat + Awesome Cake’ins (k, what would YOU call ’em?  Muffcakes? hahaha! Um, NO!)

photo(117)

(oh yeah, you KNOW you want to eat this!  Swimming in a little pool of maple syrup….)

Ingredients:

1/2 Heaping Cup Oat Flour (just pulverize the oats in your Cuisinart until fine and flour-like)

1 Heaping Cup of Buckwheat Flour

2 tsp. Baking Powder

1/2 tsp. Salt

1/4 tsp. Nutmeg

1 Nice Full Tbs. Coconut Oil

1/4 Cup Orange Juice

1 Cup Coconut Milk, Almond Milk, Rice Milk (your choice.  If you want these sweeter, use sweetened milk, if you like more savory, use unsweetened, either would work.)

3 Tbs Maple Syrup

1 Tbs Vanilla

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

In one bowl, combine your dry ingredients.  In another bowl, measure out and combine your wet ingredients.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir until just combined.  Do NOT over mix!

photo(111)

Then, let the batter sit for about 10 – 15 minutes.  Grease your muffin tins and clean up whilst you wait.

Measure out the batter into your tins.  I used an ice cream scoop, which I also use as a cookie and a scone scoop.  I also filled the tins just under 1/3 full.

photo(112)

This filled up one whole muffin tin + 5 additional.  Next time I make these, I might make them a little thinner and not put so much batter in each muffin holder area.

photo(113)

Bake for about 8 minutes or until the tops poof just a bit and cake’in has started to pull away from the sides of the tin.  Then promptly eat and enjoy!

photo(114)

Yum!  Baked up and smelling wicked good!

Tip:  once they are out of the oven, use a knife and quickly flip them/tip the cake’ins on their sides.  This prevents a sticky, moist bottom.  And unless you are into some kinky things, no one likes a sticky, moist bottom. 😉

photo(115)

photo(116)

Most definitely gobble-up-able.  🙂 Ah, so good.

Yeah.  So there you go.  Make these.  Your mouth will thank you.  And your waistline.

2 thoughts on “Buckwheat + Oat Wheat + Awesome Vegan Pancakes

    • Very much so! The hint of nutmeg adds something really special, too. They are even good cold as I just ate one of the leftovers. Thank you for your comment! You are my first!! Consequently, you’ve just literally made my day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

