My Pesto is the Best-o

Hey All!

So, I’m thinking you’ve been long overdue for a yummy and easy recipe.  Amiright?  ….pretty sure I’m right.  😉

I made this for dinner last night.

Image

I’ve loved pesto for a long, long, time now, but rarely order it out or make it at home because it has so. much. oil.  And I have considerations about eating it for that reason.  I’ve since lightened up the basic pesto recipe and find it to be even better than the stuff you get out or in a jar.  The addition of the vegan sausage really put the dinner over the top and made it even tastier!

My Pesto is the Best-O Recipe

1 Cup Packed Fresh Basil Leaves

1/4 Cup (heaping) Walnuts

4 Tbs. Olive Oil

4 Tbs. Veggie Stock

4 Cloves Garlic

Dash Red Pepper Flakes

1/4 tsp. Salt (or add to taste)

1 ladle-full (about 4 Tbs.) Pasta Water (the water the pasta was cooked in.)

Directions:

Place all ingredients into a Cuisinart and blend until smooth.  

Image

You see here the type of sausage I use.  I love it because it doesn’t have any processed soy meat in it and tastes great! 

Once your pasta is al dente, drain (after adding the water to the sauce that is!), put back in the pot, add in the sausage and sauce, toss to coat, then cover, and put on low heat for about two minutes.  (Side note: By doing this, you really get the pasta to soak up the flavors of the sauce.  The added bit of heat cooks the raw garlic just a bit, so it is less bitter.)  Toss pasta again, leave lid on, turn off heat and let sit for another few minutes.  You can use this time to prep garlic bread and a salad! 

This recipe makes about a 3/4 cup of sauce–enough to cover and coat 6 – 8 servings of pasta.  I like to make enough for leftovers, which taste great cold, by the way.  Also, I used one vegan sausage for the two of us, but if you are cooking for more, modify this amount.  I’ve also found that the pesto sauce will free just fine, in case you have extra and you don’t know what to do with it. 

Image

This recipe is super good, super easy, and now made guilt free!  So enjoy! 

4 thoughts on “My Pesto is the Best-o

Leave a Reply

