Weekend Round-up + Easy Dinner Recipe

I hope you all had a very enjoyable weekend!  I know I did!  It was nice to be busy on Saturday–having fun kept my mind off the Kickstarter stuff.  Son of Doo-Doo and Heather, Nick, Ruxin, and I went to Lizard’s Mouth Saturday afternoon to just hang out, have relax-y time, and watch the sun go down.  Little did I know that Ruxin is a mountain goat in dog form!  He scaled the rocks like a champion!  Lizard’s Mouth is crazy beautiful and has a glorious, sweeping view of the hills and ocean above Santa Barbara.  I’m amazed that I’ve lived in Santa Barbara most of my life and have never been there. 

Image

See what I mean?  Just beautiful.

Image

Image

Goat Dog in action!  Look at him climb! 

Image

This is probably one of my favorite photos, ever.  🙂  Look at how victorious he looks!  So proud!  It was a total toss up for him–climb, or eat acorns, which there were a lot of, which he WOOFED down a lot of.  “They had a bunch of acorns; I ate a bunch of acorns.” 😉  Fortunately there were no adverse effects from all the acorn eating!  Yay!

Image

It was a little windy and started to get cold, so we packed up and headed back before the sun went down.

Image

After Lizard’s Mouth we headed back to Tingle Manor (Son of Doo-Doo and Heather’s place) and had veggie burgers and lost horribly at Catan. 

Yesterday Nick and I hung out here, went for a nice walk on Main Street, walked along the the ocean front, and had a long discussion on what we could do to get the word out about my Kicktarter project and just published book, “The Warkak and Snoozle.”  Guys, the few of you who read, if you have any suggestions here, I’d love to hear them.  Seriously.  Please message me and let me know if there is something else I could do, here.  🙂  Thanks!  My small victory was emailing the Dyslexic Kids facebook page to see if they’d share my book–it IS written in a dyslexic friendly font after all!  They did share the book on their page, wrote a very nice little introduction for their followers, and I’m so grateful–honestly, I don’t care about sales.  I care that people read and enjoy, like I did as a kid.  I think it is interesting that more people don’t publish using these sorts of heavy bottomed fonts.  They are so much easier to read, even if you don’t struggle with dyslexia.

Sunday dinner was not fancy, but I made one of my old stand-bys:  Tofu & Artichoke Couscous Medley. 

Image

Since going vegan I have had to create a couple of easy, quick, tasty, and healthy go-to recipes and this is one of them.  I keep my pantry stocked with the flavors and ingredients I enjoy, so that in a pinch, I can throw something together with relatively minimal effort.  I’d classify this recipe as more comfort food, vegan style, and often replaces mac-n-cheese around here.  On a side note, I know I give the things I make funny names, and if you have a better name, let me know!

Ingredients:

3 Cups Veggie Stock

1 Tbs Olive Oil (Optional, but tastier with it for obvious reasons!)

1/2 tsp Salt

1 + 1/2 Cup Trader Joe’s Harvest Grains Blend (it has Israeli Couscous, Orzo, baby garbanzo beans, and quinoa in it and makes a great base for many recipes.)

1 Can Artichoke Hearts, Rinsed, Drained, and Quartered

1 Package Tofu (Savory Kind)

Sun Dried Tomatoes

Toasted Chopped Pecans

Directions:

In a large pot, place veggie stock, olive oil, and salt.  Cover and bring to a boil.  Stir in couscous mix.  Turn heat down to low, cover, and let cook for about 7-8 minutes. 

Add tofu, stir, recover and let cook for another 2-3 minutes.

Add artichoke hearts and sun dried tomatoes, stir, cover, and let cook until all liquid has been absorbed; roughly another 3-5 minutes. 

Image

Serve with a salad and/or veggies.  I made peas and had some carrots and snap peas that I topped with a little Goddess dressing.  It was pretty tasty, hearty, and satisfying!  This recipe makes 4 servings and the leftovers are great cold, which I’m eying already, though it isn’t even lunch time.

Image

After dinner we went and visited our friend Matt (who is awesome!), brought a bottle of wine and some freshly baked pumpkin spice cookies (see last post!) and just hung out.  I should update that recipe as Nick and I felt that the cookies were better after the dough had been chilled over night.  The dough bakes fine without being chilled, however, but I’m not surprised that being chilled made it better, as this is the way with that type of dough! 

Visiting with Matt was a very nice end to a very nice weekend.  Now I guess it’s back to the grind!  I hope you all had a great weekend! If you have suggestions for how to help promote the Kickstarter or the book, please let me know!  🙂 

Leave a Reply

