Friday? Heck Yes. Sweet Potatoes with Caramelized Onions? Heck YES.

Everyone.  I have a most excellent recipe I’d like to share with you all to celebrate the weekly return of Friday and help usher in a fall-tastic weekend!

First, let me explain a bit about what inspired this recipe.

1. I wanted something yummy, vegan, and different to share on here!

2.  I wanted to experiment with the savory + sweet flavor combo.

3.  I wanted to create something fun and fall-tastic that could be a Thanksgiving side-dish contender.

Let me say, I achieved all these objectives.  Initially, my idea was to use butternut squash in place of the sweet potatoes.  But….when I went to grab my butternut squash….well, let’s just say it was long past the point of being edible.  Bummer.  But I was still tasting for this savory + sweet combo and grabbed my new bag of sweet potatoes and rocked it out.

Have you ever caramelized onions?  I haven’t.  But it sounded like a great start to the savory aspect to this dish.  For all of you out there that are like me and haven’t caramelized onions let me tell you this:  it. is. easy.  For this recipe I wanted to layer in the flavors, so I used coconut oil to saute the onions, and added a bit of maple syrup (instead of sugar) to get them nice and caramel-y.

Step One:  Slide/dice/chop up 1/2 an onion.

Step Two: Saute up in a pan with a Tablespoon or more coconut oil (you could use olive oil, too).

Image

Step Three:  Add a Tablespoon maple syrup, a dash of salt and some pepper.

Step Four:  Saute up over medium heat until the onions are soft and browned all over.

Image

I left my onions just a wee bit un-browned because I had big plans for them!  They were going to be a main highlight in my sweet potato dish!

Image

Sweet & Savory Sweet Potatoes w/ Caramelized Onions

Ingredients:

4 medium sized sweet potatoes, peeled & chopped into bite sized chunks

Caramelized Onions

1 TBS additional coconut oil

1 TBS additional maple syrup

Dash of nutmeg

1/4 tsp ground sage

salt & pepper

Instructions:

Put all ingredients into a large mixing bowl.  Toss to coat the sweet potatoes.  Place sweet potatoes in a tinfoil lined Pyrex and place in the oven.

Image

Bake at 375 for about 30 minutes (or until the sweet potato is soft and browned).  Toss at 15 minutes for optimal, even browning.

Image

I couldn’t stop eating this as evidenced by the slightly blurry photo here, that I stopped to take between mouthfuls of sweet potato bliss.  Between the caramelized onions and the baking sweet potatoes, the house smelled incredible.  Keep in mind that the amounts in this recipe are flexible and can be tailored based on your own personal tastes.  This recipe is pretty easy to make and I could see the leftovers being pureed up and turned into a savory tart filling.  ….That is, IF there are leftovers! 😉

Have a fabulous, fall-riffic Friday!  Try this recipe out and let me know if you are as delighted by the savory + sweet as I am!

Leave a Reply

