Small Post/Update

Hi guys,

Sorry I’ve been so lame with the posts lately.  I got over my cold, (yay!) and have been dealing with some potentially really big changes.  Anyone out there own their own business?  We are about 4 years in now, and things just aren’t turning out like we’d hoped.  Any advice on how to weather these sorts of storms would be appreciated.

It is strange who encourages us to keep on going with the business.  No one who has actually owned their own business has–only people who haven’t.  I think there is some mystique about being a business owner–like it is the western frontier or something.  Let me tell you all, owning your own business is no dream and I’m not sure if this is a great frontier-style, coonskin hat type adventure, either!  Yes it is a wild ride, but often leaves me queasy and sick feeling.  It isn’t easy, even on a good day.  It is a lot of sweat, tears, and sleepless nights.  I keep thinking that is has to get easier!  It just has to….right?  Lord help me because it doesn’t seem to be getting any easier–in fact, it seems to have gotten a whole shit-ton harder lately and I’m seriously beginning to think that this isn’t the right path for me any longer.  

I’ll keep you all posted on how things turn out.  In the meantime, our schedule has totally changed (not for the better, might I add!  Anyone want to get up at 4:00 in the morning?  No?  Yeah, that’s what I thought!) and I’m seeing a lot less of Nick these days.  This weekend his parents came and stayed with us, which meant virtually no couple time and no time to talk about all this stuff.  I hope they had a good time.  I’m afraid my general stress over these things showed though a bit and I was bad company at times.  I tried to keep my snarky-stressy self at bay because I really wanted Nick to just enjoy having his folks around.  

It might be too soon to tell what will happen.  All I know is that something has to give.  Either this business needs to start taking better care of us, or we need to find good old fashioned job-y-jobs!  

Anyway, BLAH!  Yuck.  Um, I’ll post some good recipes again, soon.  I promise.  If you have a recipe you’d like me to review, let me know!  I’ll find my inspiration again, soon.  I always do!  I just had to post share what’s up with some of the sweet people who are kind enough to read my silly little blog.  🙂

Leave a Reply

